Saturday, January 31, 2009

Last night was amazing!!!!

I figured since I had nothing else to do, I would go out to the pubs with my roomies. So we all got pretty, had a glass of wine, and went out.

The first pub we went to really sucked. Nothing great to even report. HOWEVER.. we all headed down to Covent gardens and searched the cobble stone road in our heels for a cool pub. We found one down an alley way that had music and dancing!!!! DANCING!! PUB!!! :o CRAZYYY!!
I immediately ran into the back with Sarah and we started dancing with some random drunk people. Was really fun. Had a chat with some Australian guy who named all 50 states in alphabetical order (wtf?).. got randomly felt up by some guy???? and LEFT!

Went to another boring pub. Met some girl from Norway who was in London to meet her online boyfriend from WoW. I was glad to know that I wasn't the only internet creeper. She was awesome. They were trying to get me to go out to Camden but I decided to just stay around the area.

Then we apparently hooked up with some plastic surgeon and his friends, who got me and my Norway friend into some club. I had lost my roomates so I figured I would just go dance and have a good time on my own. Danced a little, then met some guy named Sam from Nigeria. He was awesome. He straight up said "I'm not a big fan of America, I know nothing about it".. and I said "Good! I'm sick of talking about it!".. and we just danced. We had a political debate, he rubbed my nasty stinky, sweaty feet. Bought me a drink, and I left.

Gretchen and I took a cab home. She was WASTED!.. Falling off the seat, yelling at the driver kind of wasted. Was so uncomfortable that I could do nothing but laugh. Poor girl called her mom, and found out her dad had been in the hospital and no one told her because they "Didn't want to upset her".. she was pretty devestated. Understandably. Got some McDonalds and came home.. ate and passed out..

Amazing night. No doubt.

Monday, January 26, 2009

WORST.DAY.EVER.

So lets talk about this.
I have been in the Netherlands since Thursday.. which was amazing. But, while there, I found out that my credit cards and debit cards have not been working since I had left. So in calling the bank, my mother and I found out that Missouri State forgot to tell me that I owe them $4000 more than what I had expected to pay. Oh and also that I didnt get more than half of my scholarship money. So. For the whole weekend and today I had zero money in my account, no credit on my phone, and no groceries in the fridge. All I have in my Visa gift card which is only accepted in very limited places.
Then.. lets see.. I've been worked up about this all day. Knowing that I can't really do anything to help this situation because I have no phone, and no money to be able to even access a phone. So.. in order to calm myself.. I figured going on my field trip to the art museum would be a good thing to do. A good walk, some nice paintings would probably calm my spirits.. until I get there and find that this guy likes to just paint RECTANGLES... RECTANGLES.. thats all. How fucking irritating. and of course, I have to write a paper on how a piece makes me feel. HOW DOES THE RECTANGLE MAKE YOU FEEL SAM???
So, okay, fine. At least I just get to go home and sit in my flat and be chilly.. Talk to Arjen on Skype.. you know. Calm down. So I stop by subway, and get a sub with my gift card, and go home.. and I had forgotten my key. "oh well, thats alright, Sarah should be there still, her field trip isn't for another hour or so..".. Sarah is not at home. Neither RA is at home.. So I just go out and sit on the porch. Thankfully my friend Melissa is sitting there too, and I was invited to come back to her dorm for a bit.....4 FUCKING HOURS LATER...someone arrives with a key for me.
So I finally get to my room.. and I open my laptop and see that my Wifi is actually working. WHAT A RELIEF.. I open skype.. and just as soon as it is open.. the internet shuts off.
Then my mom calls. Oh joy. She continues to stress me out with numbers and explantions. In conclusion she tells me that I am no longer getting extra scholarship money and that I now have money in my debit account that I can't actually spend and that even the credit limit on my account is not really increased yet
Funtimes. FUN FUN FUN FUN FUN

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Inauguration Day!!!

Today Barrack Hussein Obama was sworn into office at 5:00pm London time..
I was at the local pub with a pint of Fosters in my right hand, surrounded by lots of my fellow program mates, my teachers, and some locals.
We all watched carefully and cheered as history was made. That short period of time was sheer bliss. Maybe things will start looking up for America.
This past weekend was a rather tough one for me.. I felt as if I needed to stay in for a while seeing as I had spent 90-something pounds on a trip to Amsterdam on Thursday!!! Plus I found out that Travis, my favorite cousin, and one of my best friends.. was getting married on Saturday.. and oh yeah, NO ONE TOLD ME! It was really depressing for me.. and I think I spent most of Saturday crying.
I didn't really go out much this weekend.. well, at all really. Saturday, Ali came around and we went to Hyde Park and hung around there for a while. The walk was nice.. and the company was too.. but alas he was bitchy again because he got a ticket while he was inside my flat.


Classes have been alright.. lots of reading!!! The amount of reading I have done in the past few days is probably more than I have ever read, for any class in my entire life. Its soo ridiculous. But other than the reading, they've been pretty cool. I really like my Religion and Violence class, even though the professor talks too much and my Politics and Culture class is also pretty awesome.

I guess I'll update some more after Thursday when something more is going on in my world.

Monday, January 12, 2009

Last night was one of the most awesome nights ever!.. After getting a shitty tour of London, and getting lost in the city with Ali, the roomies and I all went out to the Kings Head pub around the corner. After sitting for about an hour, I decided it was time to leave and go home.. so I started to head out and was stopped by a couple of nice British men. It turned out that it was one of their birthdays.. so I stayed and helped to celebrate his birthday. Came back to his table and ended up hanging out with the Birthday Boy (Jeremy) and his friends Paul, Kelly, and Dane. We all had a laugh and a pint and then headed on over to another pub. There we continued to drink.. I ended up having some great political conversations with Jeremy and Kelly and two French girls that we had met in the pub. Was really a good time. Made some friends, got some numbers... will probably go back out to the Pubs for trivia tonight... but we'll see what happens.

Pictures on Myspace. =)

Sunday, January 11, 2009

So anyways..

After getting off that plane yesterday we went right on the busses and headed over to the flats. I have 3 roomates in a super duper small space. 2 bunk beds, a kitchen the size of a closet, and very very very limited space for stuff. I have half of a SMALL closet, and 3 tiny drawers.
Anyways, we all made the long haul up to the college, which was probably about 2 miles, to have a small orientation and a lunch of fish and chips. Then we came back.
There was a pub crawl around 6 last night but I went to bed instead because I had been up for probably about 30 hours. BEST SLEEP EVER!!!

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Day One

The plane trip was sooo long!!! 8 hour.. awake. Looking around. Watching people sleep. Joy. Bitches behind me turning the light on and off so I can't sleep.

Then we landed.. and I was soo excited.. My eyes got o big looking around the airport. It was sad.

I've been awake for 24 hours.. This makes no sense. I need sleep.

I'm safe, and sleepy. Need to unpack and go to bed.

That is all

Thursday, January 8, 2009

TESTING
TESTING